Synchronicity

The past 5 weeks have been a whirlwind. As you know, it was 5 weeks ago that I officially left my day job and began devoting myself toward the development of my vocation – to dedicate my time and energy to the fulfillment of my mission statement:

“To give divine light form through the manifestation of symbolic images that encourage reflection upon the myriad ways spirit reveals itself within our world.” 

I have been working on making sure things are in order for my vending at the various art and wine festivals throughout the Bay Area (see right panel for the schedule) setting up a consistent studio schedule and looking for reasonable part-time employment.  Money is tight, the vending circuit can be grueling, and I need to stay focused on the creation of additional images.

I have prepped the canvas in anticipation of completing the second image in my new chakra series. I was also inspired by a photo I posted on Facebook and a painting by Richard Diebenkorn I saw at an exhibit in San Francisco a few months ago. These 2 seeming ly random impressions blossomed into a concept regarding the notion of Memento mori – translated from Latin as, “remember you must die.” These kinds of images have been used historically but became a common genre of imagery for artists during the 17th century. Anyway, I began researching and collecting reference for the

Anyway, I began researching the theme and collecting reference images for the creation of my own memento mori about 6 weeks ago. In July First Friday was extremely packed and lots of people were in the studio. A woman began speaking with me about my work and inquired about my interest in submitting an image proposal for a project at the next Burning Man. I said sure and took her information to follow-up but didn;t really think much of it. the following week I reached out to make contact and was eventually sent a packet of specs and other information about how to complete my submission for the project. I initially saved the email but didn’t open any of the attachments to look at them because I was too busy with some other projects and the deadline wasn’t until August 3rd.

In the interim, I completed the canvas prep and worked up a suitable sketch for the memento mori project. Once the sketch was up to standards I decided to complete the image in scratchboard and mocked it up on a nice new piece of board.

Pyramid skectch

Mock-up sketch for Scratchboard

Last week I took a break from sketch-searching (my own new word for sketching and researching) to go through my emails and look at the specifications for the Burning Man submission. It turns out that the project is focused on the creation of a South American style pyramid themed around the Day of the Dead.  I immediately thought about how I could use the Memento Mori project I was working on and create a small mock-up version to submit for the Pyramid project.  I usually complete some kind of small mock-up n preparation for a new project anyway so the whole process was fitting right into my normal work flow.

Nicho b:w

Completed mock-up for Burning Man Pyramid

I completed the sketch and then decided it would be more attractive using color so I made the adjustment to create a color mock-up and submitted it for review. To my surprise, the next morning I received the following confirmation,

“Hi Damon,

This a beautiful piece! With your permission we would like to use it as a perk for our second crowdfunding campaign. We would print 8×10 poster prints as a donation reward, we would like to include a short bio about the artist and a link to more of your work. Let us know if this is acceptable for you.”

Talk about synchronicities! All of these random slices of events and impressions came together in order for this to happen. This is what life and the willingness to maintain a connection to spirit is truly all about. This is a reminder to keep following my intuition, listening through meditation and prayer, acting with assurance that guidance is always available, and being willing to follow-up and do the work! So mark your calendars and get ready to join me at my first Burning Man!!

Powell Nicho submission

Memento Mori color mock-up sketch.

I will still be completing my own Scratchboard piece of this image (with a few modifications) in the coming weeks so be on the lookout. When I post the completed image I will provide my usual breakdown with regard to the image’s meaning and symbolism – so be on the lookout!

 

 

Leave a Reply

